Family and Christmas Cookie Baking

Family is amazing.  They’re supportive, loving, caring and always there for you if you need anything, like helping you bake Christmas cookies for everyone you know!

When mom suggested getting together and baking cookies this year, I couldn’t imagine a better way to get all my cookies made and get in some quality bonding time with all the women in my family.

On the list of cookies to make were gingerbread, sugar cookies, mom’s pecan jewel cookies and orange cranberry shortbread. (Get the recipes here.)

I did a little prep work the night before baking the gingerbread and sugar cookies so we could decorate them the next day.  I also made the orange cranberry shortbread dough, since it can be kept in the fridge for up to 72 hours.  Last but not lease, I prepared my table to the mess that was about to ensue by laying a plastic tablecloth underneath and on the table itself.  Wanna talk easy clean up?  All you have to do is fold it up and throw it out!

Saturday came and once everyone showed up, we got right to work.  My mom and sister-in-law helped my niece build and decorate a gingerbread house while my sister and I started baking in the kitchen.  (Tell me I have the cutest niece!)

Once the cookies were all cooling we sat down and started decorating.  The love and laughter warmed the room.

We had a blast and I don’t want to wait until next Christmas to do this again!

Merry Christmas from my beautiful family and me!

2 thoughts on “Family and Christmas Cookie Baking

  1. Susan L Walton says:

    Hi!
    I tried your cider glazed chicken recipe and I loved it!!!! While I did not have an iron skillet I have an enamel clad pot that worked great! Was yummy! I will make it again!!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment